Uncategorized

Vernacular Typography.

Finding unique things to Plymouth.

We were given a general overview to different types of typography that we would find in the public. Examples of these are:

Directional signage, Fascia lettering, Deterioration/Vandalism, Illumination, Hand rendered, Ghost signs, Folk/Outsider, Economic hand lettering , Traditional hand lettering.

We went into town to find examples of vernacular typography and I found the pictures below.

An example of vernacular typography that was the font Gotham, famously used for Obama’s presidential campaign.

Overview:

I liked this exercise because it made me notice my surroundings more and appreciate folk/outsider typography. I also liked learning about ghost typography because it was something that I had noticed before but I didn’t know what it was called or how it even came about.

2 thoughts on “Vernacular Typography.

Leave a Reply

